MONDAY
& TUESDAY, JULY 8 & 9:
Rainy and
damp ever since Sunday night. Periods of
hard rain, even, on Monday. But it’s ok
– we needed a day or two of down time, to do laundry, etc. So that’s how we used the time.
We’ve
been needing to go up to the office for these last couple of days every time we
want WiFi. Last week, we had a
connection here, even though weak most of the time. But at least we could stay at home here to
get on. For some reason, we can’t even
get on now. Frustrating. Linda, the owner, is apologetic, and says she
is having someone from Anchorage come down and work on their system.
That
aside, this campground is very, very nice.
Probably one of the better ones we’ve been at – certainly so on this
trip. Nice tree-surrounded sites,
arranged with space between them. What
makes them a real standout, though, is their customer service. They bend over backwards to do what they can
to help their customers enjoy their time in Juneau. They give suggestions on places to visit,
restaurant recommendations, and even help with bookings. They’re trying to help us right now with a
hot water leak we have under the kitchen sink.
Arranging for a plumber to come out.
Corinne (the owner’s daughter, who looks like she manages a lot of the
day-to-day operations) came out to look at the problem herself, so that she can
convey to the plumber, with whom she’s done business previously) exactly what
the issue seems to me. Since he
(plumber) is working us in, and he wasn’t able to get out yet this week, and
we’re leaving tomorrow for 3 ½ days to
go to Glacier Bay (without the RV – we’re renting a cheap cabin over
there), she has our key and will let him
in, pay him, and we’ll reimburse her. That’s
an example of going above & beyond!
We’re
taking a 7:00 a.m. ferry over to Gustavus tomorrow morning. And since it’s a very busy terminal, with
lots of early morning departures, we need to get there by 5:30. Groan.
Gustavus is the entry point for Glacier Bay Nat’l Park, which we
considered a must-see. But logistics took some thinking through. Can only get there by boat or plane. No RV accommodations over there, and,
besides, it wouldn’t be worth the cost & trouble to haul the RV over on the
ferry. Thankfully, we found some cheap
cabins there . . . literally everything
else is luxurious lodges, with corresponding price tags. Plus, we can take Pappy there to the
cabin. Very grateful for how this worked
out – otherwise, would have been a hard decision as to whether to spend a lot of $$ for 3 nites. So we’re just going on the ferry with the
truck, so we can get around. I’m sure no WiFi there, so will be a few days
before I can post the Blog again.
No comments:
Post a Comment